EEMUA Early Years Industry Award 2021

EEMUA Early Years Industry Award 2021

The Early Years Industry Award was set up to recognise the efforts of new starters within the engineering field, demonstrating their communication skills, engineering application and leadership in their specific specialism.

The award is given based on an assessment of a two-part submission, which includes the following:

  • 10 Minute Presentation of a topic of the candidate’s choosing. This can be related to the candidate’s Day-to-Day job but should be focused on their achievements at this early stage within their careers.  The evaluation should demonstrate how the candidate produced innovative ideas and solutions or innovatively adopted already established solutions to contribute to an improvement in their company’s key performance areas whilst demonstrating an approach which also adds sustainable longer-term value.  
  • Questionnaire – Fixed questions to allow specific questioning to allow a sound comparison for the award. The questionnaire will be sent out once the candidate’s application has been approved.

Who is eligible?

Anyone who has completed an Apprenticeship or Degree within the last five years and is working for an EEMUA Member company is eligible to enter.
(They cannot have worked for an EEMUA Member company prior to completing their degree) 

If eligibility is unclear, then the candidate should contact the EEMUA Technical Executive who will contact the Awards Committee for a ruling.

Application for the award will require company support as time will be required away from the office. You will also require your line manager to endorse your application.

You will need to be available on 18th November 2021.

What are the prizes?

The prize for 1st place is:
  • £1,500 cash prize,
  • a seat on the EEMUA Council for 12 months.
The 1st place winner will effectively become an “EEMUA ambassador”, promoting the wider industry (and the organisation) and will also get a free delegate place to the EEMUA Conference in 2023.
EEMUA Award Winner Role Includes:
  • Free participation in the EEMUA Conference 2023
  • A seat on the EEMUA Conference Committee 
  • Contribute to a blog about their working life
  • A seat on the EEMUA Awards Committee 2022
  • Speak at a relevant EEMUA Seminar
  • Attend EEMUA Council Dinner 2022 (EEMUA Awards 2022 Winners Announcement)
The prize for 2nd place is:
  • £150 high street voucher
  • EEMUA Awards Certificate
  • Invitation to EEMUA Council Dinner 2021

How to apply?

To apply for the EEMUA Early Years Industry Award 2021 you must contact the EEMUA lead representative for your company, they will then determine if you are eligible. Upon confirmation of eligibility you should be given a document containing all information necessary to build your application and information on how to submit it.

The deadline for submission is: 17th September 2021

If you are unsure who the lead representative for your company is, please get in touch using the contact details at the bottom of the page.

Early Years Industry Award 2020 Winner and Runners-up

The winner of the Early Years Industry Award 2020 was announced at the EEMUA Council meeting held online on 12 November 2020.

The winner was Morgan Tiley, Graduate Engineer - Calor Gas Ltd

(Left) Morgan showcasing his Early Years Industry Award in an "Award Selfie". (RIght) Calor article commending the success of Morgan Tiley and William Miller. 

This year the award committee were very impressed with the applicants to the EEMUA Early Years Industry Award. There were a number of keen and impressive applicants. Morgan’s application was a great demonstration of a graduate who was keen to learn and use his practical experience to improve processes that he has used within his company. Morgan’s presentation was well presented and demonstrated innovative filming ideas whilst working from home. - EEMUA Awards Committee

The Runners-up were:

  • William Miller, Engineering Graduate, Calor Gas Ltd,
  • Joanna Snape, Engineering and Leadership Graduate, E.ON UK, and
  • Zachary Gaiqui, Digitisation and Performance Graduate, E.ON UK.


(Left) William Miller, (Centre) Joanna Snape and (Right) Zachary Gaiqui, presenting the EEMUA Award Runners-up certificate

The committee recognised there was a number of high quality applicants this year so have awarded a ‘runners-up’ award to other highly commended applicants. Joanna, William and Zachary’s presentations were impressive displays of development during the early years of their careers and hence all being awarded a ‘Runners-up’ award. - EEMUA Awards Committee

Early Years Industry Award 2019 Winner

The winner of the Early Years Industry Award 2019 was announced at the EEMUA Council dinner held on 13 November 2019.

The winner was Matthew Smith, Instrument Engineer - Phillips 66 Ltd


(Left) “The proud winner”; Matty being presented with the Award by Stuart Turner, EEMUA Council Chair. (Right) Matty pictured with Stuart, Steve Wilkinson (Phillips 66 representative on EEMUA Council), and Stefan Kukula (EEMUA Chief Executive).

“It was great to read and see the level of experiences of engineers at the start of their careers, what stood out about the winner was, not only the technical depth of his achievements but his confident, energetic and enthusiastic approach to these challenges, which is exactly what this award is hoping to reveal in every engineer’s early career in industry.”EEMUA Awards Committee.

Further details of the 2019 Award announcement are available on our News page. 


For further information, please contact:


Telephone: +44 (0)20 7488 0801


Email campaign unsubscription has failed

Forthcoming event

EEMUA Inspection Seminar

Location: Live Online Seminar

Dates: 30/09/2021

Learn more

Explore all our events Explore all our events