Engineer from Calor Gas wins this year's EEMUA industry award

13 November 2020

EEMUA is pleased to announce that the winner of its Early Years Industry Award 2020 is Morgan Tiley of Calor Gas.

The Award recognises the efforts of new starters within the engineering field in EEMUA Member companies, demonstrating their communication skills, engineering application and leadership in their specific specialism.

On receiving the Award at the virtual EEMUA Council meeting on 12 November, Morgan said: “It’s an honour to be chosen as the EEMUA Early Years Industry Award 2020 winner. To be recognised for my achievements at this stage in my career is brilliant and I’d like to thank the review panel at EEMUA for selecting me. The opportunity to sit on the Council for 12 months and to learn from experienced professionals will stand me in good stead to develop a career in the industry”.

Morgan’s entry was a great demonstration of a graduate who was keen to learn and use his practical experience to improve processes he has used within his company. His impressive presentation demonstrated innovative filming ideas whilst working from home during coronavirus.  

In recognition of the high quality of entries this year, EEMUA has presented a joint ‘runners-up’ award to three highly commended applicants: William Miller from Calor Gas, and Joanna Snape and Zachary Gaiqui both from E.ON Energy.

On presenting the winner’s award, EEMUA Council Chair Stuart Turner commented: “The EEMUA Early Years Industry Award 2020 has been yet another example which shows the calibre of individuals starting out in their careers. This year has shown that despite the difficult time we are all living and working in, the EEMUA members continue to develop quality early career candidates and it is my absolute pleasure to present the award to Morgan”.

“I would also like to congratulate the runners-up whose calibre of submissions led to the three-way split for second place. I look forward to working with Morgan on Council and with all the participants who I’m hopeful will become future members of the relevant EEMUA committees as the next face of engineering, bringing a new outlook to the committees”.

Kevin McKeown, Calor Gas representative on EEMUA Council, added: “Calor are justifiably proud that the efforts by two of our engineering graduates have been recognised by EEMUA in this way. Many congratulations to Morgan Tiley in winning the award, to Will Miller in being a joint runner-up, and to all the other candidates who entered.” 

Morgan receives a £1,500 cash prize, along with a seat on the EEMUA Council for 12 months, effectively becoming an “EEMUA ambassador”, promoting the wider industry (and the organisation).